flexiblefullpage - default
Currently Reading

2016 Pro Remodeler Design Awards

billboard -

2016 Pro Remodeler Design Awards

The past year's best ideas in design, skillfully crafted

By By David Weissman and Erika Taylor August 30, 2016
design awards hero
This article first appeared in the September 2016 issue of Pro Remodeler.


The work of this year’s Professional Remodeler Design Awards winners represents the very best ideas in design. This year's winning entries raise the bar, offering a variety of smart ways to address both the clients’ practical and aesthetic needs, showing exemplary care and craftsmanship in the execution of the work.

The nearly two dozen companies awarded here stand out for their remodeling work in kitchens, baths, basements, exteriors, additions, whole-house remodels, historical renovations, and more, with budgets that run the gamut and locations that include both rural and urban settings. Each winner provides effective and beautiful design solutions to unique challenges.

Winning entries appear in the following categories:

Best Body of Work 

This new category in the Pro Remodeler Design Awards for 2016 honors the sustained design excellence of one company. Congratulations to this year's winner: Craig McMahon Architects, in San Antonio.

Platinum Award Winners

Whole-House Remodel Over $750,000

Residential Interior Over $100,000

Kitchen Over $100,000

Residential Specialty

Finished Basement

Gold Award Winners

Whole-House Remodel Over $750,000

Whole-House Remodel, $300,000 to $750,000*

Whole-House Remodel, $300,000 to $750,000*

Addition Over $150,000

Outdoor Living Over $100,000

Residential Over $100,000

Kitchen Over $100,000

Whole-House Remodel Under $300,000

Outdoor Living Under $100,000

Kitchen $50,000 to $100,000

Bathroom Over $60,000

Kitchen Under $50,000

Detached Outbuilding


Bathroom $30,000 to $60,000

Residential Specialty

Finished Basement

Commercial Remodel

Bathroom Under $30,000

* = two winners in this category


To see the Silver and Bronze award winners, click here.


Thank you to the 2016 Design Awards judges:

Amanda Jones, Lead Project Designer, Hatfield Builders & Remodelers, Plano, Texas

Robi Kirsic, president, TimeLine Renovations, Maspeth, N.Y.

Leslie Malloy, Designer, Normandy Remodeling, Hinsdale, Ill.

Doug Walter, Owner, Doug Walter Architects, Denver

written by

David Weissman

David Weissman is associate editor for Professional Remodeler

Add new comment

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and email addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

    This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.

Related Stories

2022 Forty Under 40

The 11th annual Pro Remodeler Forty Under 40 list highlights the industry's shining future.

Project Highlights from the Remodeling Awards

These projects offer solutions and design inspiration for remodelers across the country.

NAHB Remodeler of the Year: Kurt Clason's Craftmanship

A strong emphasis on craftmanship and loyalty to his team makes Clason Remodeling a true standout.

Savannah-Based Builder to Lead NAHB

The National Association of Home Builders names its new 2022 Chairman

Nominations Open For 2021 Innovative Showroom Awards

NKBA's annual Innovative Showroom Awards (because of the pandemic) are expected to be particularly interesting this year 

Recognizing Remarkable Talent

The NAHB celebrates excellence in design, young talent, and outstanding industry leaders

A Woman Worth Recognizing

Women in Residential Construction gives its highest honor

An Evening of All-Stars

NAHB remodelers’ annual celebration at the international builders’ show showcased the best and most innovative of the remodeling industry 

Extreme Sales Summit Celebrates Extreme Salespeople

Ten industry pros you should be taking notes from 

boombox1 -
native1 -

More in Category

native2 -
halfpage1 -